Sivananda Yoga

In the following series I am going to describe you the 12 basic asanas that we practice in the Sivananda style yoga and that benefit our health the most. The asanas are in the following order:

  1. Headstand
  2. Shoulderstand
  3. Plough
  4. Fish
  5. Seated forward bend
  6. Cobra
  7. Locust
  8. Bow
  9. Half spinal twist
  10. Crow
  11. Standing forward bend
  12. Triangle

And here are the descriptions:

If you wish to learn the basics of the Sivananda practice from me, please feel free to contact me for a series of 4 or 8 classes, that will give you a good foundation to continue practicing on your own.

Here is a short video on the Sivananda sequence and it’s 12 basic poses presented by me:


Caution: If you are a beginner, please only attempt (especially) the headstand and shoulder-stand in the presence of an advanced practitioner or teacher.

Be Sociable, Share!

No Comments

Leave a Reply